The Very Worst Lesson

Growing up, I was told you could ask God for anything you wanted. I was told that God would hear your request, analyze it, and decide whether it would be in His best interest to grant it.

But I also learned that God has an express line. There was one request He would grant 100% of the time you asked it, and that is the exact reason you should never request this particular thing.  What is this scary thing? If you grew up in the church, you know what I’m talking about:

Patience. 

If you ask God for patience, he will give it to you. Quickly, and without remorse.

The thing is, I don’t remember asking God for patience. I remember asking Him to hurry up with a few things in my life, but it seems that He chose instead to work on my heart.

I am still looking for a permanent job. I have a temp now, and I am grateful for it. It pays the bills, and is very low stress. But I want a real job. I want benefits, a comfortable salary, and to be able to build relationships with my co-workers without the wall of “temp” being in the way.

I want to get married. Autumn and I have been dating for just over 3 years now, and there’s nothing wrong with that, but I knew I wanted to marry her 6 months in. I haven’t been in a financial position for marriage (I know finances are never “ideal,” but I wanted to be out of debt so I didn’t drag her into it.) and so we have been waiting.

I thought I’d be in a much different place at this point in my life. For some reason, even though I have become a really good planner lately, God continues to push back my plans. This past weekend I realized that through everything going on, God is teaching me to be patient.

In Proverbs 19:21, it says “Many are the plans in the mind of a man, but it is the purpose of the Lord that will stand.”

I know in my heart that God’s plan will prevail, and it will be grander than anything I could ever have imagined for myself. I believe God wants me to have a job (although I’m becoming less and less sure of that) and I know that Autumn is the one whom I have set my heart to choose to love for the rest of my life.

Even though I know these things, I am having a really hard time waiting for God to bring them to pass.

Which is why I’m learning patience, even though I didn’t ask for it.

 

What is God teaching you right now? 

5 responses to “The Very Worst Lesson

  1. Pingback: Patience is hard to find. | Living Life in Glorious Colour

  2. A girl in our small group on Tuesday night said, “You never ask God for patience. Ever!” I’m not sure if she was joking or not.

    Thanks for sharing this Austin.

Leave a Reply

