Father’s Day

Today is Father’s Day, as you may have heard, and this is always a rough time for me. (Warning: Things are about to get real personal here.)

A little history for you folks: I have never met my father. I know next to nothing about him. I have had two stepdads that never filled that void for me. I have been blessed, though, to have had many people in my life that have shown me what a father looks like, as well as showing me who The Father is (see what I did there?).

A few years ago, I read Donald Miller‘s book “A Million Miles In A Thousand Years.” In it, he talks about finding and meeting his dad for the first time since he was 5. This got me thinking that maybe I should find my dad. I haven’t really done anything about it, up to this point, because honestly, I’m scared. I don’t know what I’m scared of.

What if he’s a terrible person? What if he’s awesome? What if he doesn’t accept me as his son? What if he does?

Not knowing the answers to any of these questions really freaks me out.

The biggest thing I’ve learned through this particular struggle in my life, though, is how much one person can make a difference in a person’s life. I don’t know what, if anything, I’m missing by not knowing who my father is. I don’t know how my life would be different, for better or worse. I know that there are people in my life who took a step out and loved me, taught me how to be a man. These men taught me manly things like how to build a house and how to fix a car, but they also taught me manly things like how to love your wife, how to love your kids. I learned how to admit fault and how to never give up.

I hope that I can step up to be the man these men taught me to be. Not only to my wife and kids, but also to people around me, and, hopefully, to a kid who doesn’t have a dad.

5 responses to “Father’s Day

  1. Thanks for sharing your story, bro. It sounds like God has looked out for you in terms of putting some good male role models in your life in spite of not having your dad around. Sounds like you’ve accrued some pretty valuable wisdom around that whole topic.
    PS- that was a pretty cool scene from Miller’s book. Having read his other books and knowing his dad wasn’t around, it was sort of a nail-biting moment to read how it all went down. Best of luck to you on your own journey!

    • I felt the same way reading it. And I put myself in his position to see how I would react. I can’t imagine it. I hope I’ve learned something, guess we will see when I need it!

  2. Pingback: Top 10-Bucket List | austingilly

Leave a Reply

