Why Your Story Matters

There are many things that have happened to me in my life. I have been through a lot, although not as much as some people. God seems to have been guiding my life each step. There are plenty of times that I questioned Him, unsure whether He still had my back.

I have lived long enough to see the reason for some of these things that have happened. I have been through heartbreak, but have seen that it was part of God’s plan for my life when I met Autumn. I have been supported in my life by men in my church who took me under their wing, because I don’t know my father. This has taught me how beautiful the Church is, as well as given me a deeper understanding as to why it exists. I have made stupid decisions, and have learned the consequences of those decisions.

There are a lot of things that have happened, though, that I have no reason for. I don’t know why God called me to ministry when He knew it would be so hard for me to finish school. I don’t know why people around me die. I don’t know why I struggle with the things I struggle with.

I have to trust that all these things are in my life for a reason. God, to this point, has always shown me why things happen in my life. Maybe some of these things have no reason, as some say, except for his glory. I have to trust that all of these things are building my story, so that I can help heal those around me. Thrice put it perfectly when they sang, “And as long as we live, every scar is a bridge to someone’s broken heart.” We can be bitter, we all have that choice. My struggles may not be yours, or may not even be difficult for you. You may struggle with something I don’t understand. Somebody understands you, and your wounds may need to be opened and shared so that they can start to heal. Your story was not given to you because you were hated by God. We have been given a unique fingerprint in this world, and we can get bitter or we can help those around us heal. We may not be healed when we are presented with the opportunity to love those around us, but I have noticed that a lot of healing takes place when we open ourselves up and are honest with those around us.

I don’t know if God will bring “justice” on those who have wronged us. I don’t think that’s where we need to find our hope. I don’t know what God’s justice looks like. But I do know His love for us is so deep we can’t fathom it. I know that He hurts with us. I know that one day He will make it all better. I know that one day, I will be standing with Him, laughing and crying at the same time, and the last thought I have will be about the hurts I experienced on this life.

My hope is that we will not hide these hurts that we all have. My hope is that we will open up to those around us, bringing healing to ourselves and to them. My hope is that I can be at the point where I can earnestly thank God for these things that have hurt me so deeply, because I know his plans are incredible and I know He loves me.

To end, here’s some lyrics from somebody who is way better with words than me:

Thrice-For Miles

I know one day, all our scars will disappear, like the stars at dawn
And all of our pain, will fade away when morning comes
And on that day when we look backwards we will see, that everything is changed
And all of our trials, will be as milestones on the way

And as long as we live, every scar is a bridge to someone’s broken heart
And there’s no greater love, than that one shed his blood for his friends

On that day all of the scales will swing to set all the wrongs to right
All of our tears, and all of our fears will take to flight
But until then all of our scars will still remain, but we’ve learned that if we’ll
Open the wounds and share them then soon they start to heal

As long as we live, every scar is a bridge to someone’s broken heart
And there’s no greater love, than that one shed his blood for his friends

We must see that every scar is a bridge, and as long as we live
We must open up these wounds
When someone stands in your shoes and will shed his own blood
There’s no greater love. We must open up our wounds

2 responses to “Why Your Story Matters

Leave a Reply

