Playoff Predictions: Wild Card Round

After a nice two week break, I decided to come back strong with some more predictions. I doubted my Broncos, but somehow they made it into the playoffs, albeit not the way any team would want to win a division. I also expected the Cowboys to make it in, but they let me down again. I don’t even know what is wrong with that team anymore. We have four games this weekend, two today and two more tomorrow. (I won’t even get started on the BCS National Championship game, which I have never been less excited to see.)

Cincinnati @ Houston— Two rookie QBs square off, both having no momentum coming into the postseason. This should be a good, mistake filled game. Both teams have spotty (at best) defenses which will make it exciting. I’m taking Cincy 24-17.

Detroit @ New Orleans— Enough cannot be said about this entire Saints team. It’s crazy how effective their offense is, and the defense is talented enough to win games. Detroit is one of my favorite teams to watch, but they are still too young to beat the Saints. New Orleans 42-17.

Atlanta @ NY Giants– The Giants have all the pieces to be a great team, but instead come into the playoffs as the only team to ever win the NFC East with less than 10 wins. The Falcons are in the same boat, a great team on paper, but incredibly inconsistent. This is a toss-up for me, but I’m gonna give the Falcons their first playoff win in the Matt Ryan era. Atlanta 24-21. 

Pittsburgh @ Denver– Look, I love Tim Tebow, but to pit him against the Steelers and their #1 ranked defense in his first playoff game is just not fair. Also, the over-under for this game is 33 (two days ago it was 38) and I just don’t understand that, unless Vegas thinks the Steelers are going to blow out the Broncos. I would probably take the under if it was 20. Again, I love my Broncos, but I have to be realistic. Pitt 13-7.

 

What are your picks for this weekends games?

Leave a Reply

