Focus

This past weekend I caught this clip on Saturday Night Live:

I thought this video was hilarious. Partially because I have known people like this, and partially because I have been like that. To be completely honest, once I learned that someone had landed on this page through a Google Search, I became pretty full of myself. It’s very stupid to think I’m awesome because somebody Google Searched a topic and stumbled upon my site. I became pretty convicted after watching this video (It’s funny how God uses the oddest things to convict me) about my self-promotion, wishing I had more comments, following everyone on Twitter just so they will follow me back. Anyways, it made me step back and reassess my reasons for writing.

I don’t want to become “Twitter Famous”. I don’t want to lose all self-awareness that I think I can do anything just because I want to. I think America has gone a bit overboard with the “power of positive thinking” and “You can do it!” mindset, not because it isn’t true necessarily, but because these things aren’t all that success requires.

I say this like I know what it takes to be successful. If I knew, I’m sure I would be successful by now. But I know why I’m here. I’m here because I want criticism. I want to be better. I want to be disciplined and focused. I can’t just ask God to make me disciplined and focused and sit around waiting for it to happen, so I’m taking action to work on these things. And I’m trying to remain focused.

Please don’t let me become outrageously self-promotional, and if you EVER hear me call myself “Twitter famous” you have permission to open-hand slap me in the face.

Philippians 3:12b– I keep working toward that day when I will finally be all that Christ Jesus saved me for and wants me to be.

2 responses to “Focus

  1. good words dude on pride and “self promotion”…it sounds like you are trying to develop as a writer and a little character as well.

    Feels like I am stepping into the journal of austin and the issues of your life and how I can relate and grow from them. If that is the goal keep doing it. If not, spending a little more time in how you organize and communicate your ideas might be a help. Look forward to checking out future posts dude–

    • Thanks for the input! I am trying to develop as a writer but I also want to be honest to readers and to myself, I’m going to write what is on my mind a lot, you know? So its a mix I guess. Thanks for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

