Josh Hamilton

On the night of January 30, 2012, Josh Hamilton was at a restaurant and was joined by Ian Kinsler, who then left Hamilton after they ate dinner. Hamilton then had a few drinks. This is literally all we know about the situation. This is was Hamilton has said, and whether you want to believe him or not, he is the only one who knows what happened. Hamilton has specifically said there were no drugs, but also said ” things happened that me personally I’m not proud of after I drank, and they are personal and are being handled as that. ” Because nobody really knows what that means, the media in Dallas has jumped into a frenzy about what it could possibly mean. Josh has held a press conference, spoke at a men’s conference, and been interviewed by Glenn Beck, and has been honest but reserved about that night and what has transpired from that.

Some of the radio guys were talking about this situation saying Josh shouldn’t be scared to give details of that evening. They said for him to have written a book that allowed a look inside his life, but to choose not to share details of that January 30th evening is a  double standard. They say that for Josh to blame that night on the devil getting the upper hand that night, and not to take responsibility for his actions is a hypocritical. Josh, if he wants to be viewed as a good guy, must either be totally open or totally private, the media has contended. They have called him a fraud, liar, and hypocrite.

There are a few reasons this bothers me:

First, because I truly believe that Josh is a good guy. I believe that he wants to get past his struggles. I believe that he wants to love his family and those around him better. I believe that he is humble.

Second, as a Christian, I love having someone like him “in my corner.” I know this is a weird way to think, but I really can’t help it, to be honest. It’s part of the same reason I’m such a fan of David Robinson and Tim Tebow. I will not say that American Christians are persecuted, or a minority, but it’s cool to see those with such outspoken faith have the spotlight for being dominate in their sports. Anyways, with me and Josh on the same side, I want to stick up for him when someone talks trash.

Finally, I don’t think it’s fair that because Josh is a Christian, and screws up, that automatically makes him a fraud. It’s an unfair way for Christians to be viewed in society.

Again, I’m not going to cry about Christians being persecuted or treated unfairly, because up until recently I had the same view. When people in the spotlight claim Christ but have a lifestyle I don’t approve of, I can be very judgmental and harsh. When Josh screwed up, I was sad. I felt bad for him.

So, I looked at my heart and asked myself two questions:

“Why am I so hard on some who claim Christ, but give others mulligans?”

and

“Why is the Media so hard on Christians?”

I think I have the answer to both: it’s a lack of understanding about Grace.

Grace is not a concept that goes well with our society.  Society has no reason to act on grace, there is no incentive to forgive and forget. I don’t know the psychology that goes into people feeling bullied, but I think that when a Christian talks about God most people feel threatened, as if Christians think they’re better than everyone else. The sad thing is, a lot of Christians do think that and society didn’t just make up that stereotype, it comes from being hurt by a Christian, so it’s kind of hard to blame them.

I don’t fully understand grace, either, so I judge those who claim Christ but act differently than I think they should. I’m very picky with my own grace, I only give it to those I think deserve it. That really just misses the point, though, doesn’t it? I couldn’t tell you what criteria I use to determine which celebrities I will and will not give grace to, but I’m sure glad God doesn’t use that criteria on me.

I want to throw Grace around recklessly, pouring it on those who need it (read: everyone), the way God initially poured His Grace on  me without reserve and as of this morning, I’m still needing it, and thankfully, He is still pouring it.

2 responses to “Josh Hamilton

  1. I don’t know who Josh Hamilton is, but that this post is now here because of his situation is a good thing. Why is grace so difficult for us? We can’t name one thing not a gift in this life.

Leave a Reply

