NBA Finals 2012

Ok, I know it’s been forever since my last post (3 weeks actually) and I’m sorry. Life has been crazy, but I promise I’ll get better.

I am very excited about these NBA Finals. As you may have guessed from my previous NBA posts, I am a huge Spurs fan. Losing to the Thunder was/is hugely disappointing,  but, they are a team I can get behind and cheer for (as opposed to, say, the Lakers). I’m begrudgingly happy for the Thunder, and I’m sure once the game starts tonight, I’ll be just fine. Unless they lose.

Let’s talk a bit more about the Spurs. I really thought this was our year. Tim Duncan was playing out of his mind, Manu Ginobili was healthy for a playoff run, and Tony Parker was looking like he was 19 again. I thought that if the Spurs won, Duncan would retire, so he could go out on top. That’s what I would have done. I don’t doubt that he’s going to come back now, but it kind of makes me sad, because I think this was their last shot at a title. I was very impressed with the play of our role players, and hope we can bring back Danny Green and Boris Diaw. Although the outcome was not what I wanted, it was still a great series.

Ok, now back to the Finals. Miami Heat vs. Oklahoma City Thunder This is a great matchup, and should make for an exciting series. The Thunder have crazy energy and a ton of momentum right now. The Heat seem to have limped in, but they are still deserving of their place. We get to see the Scoring Champion from the past 3 years (Kevin Durant) against this years runner up (LeBron James) as well as this years MVP (Lebron James) versus this years MVP runner up (Kevin Durant). Basically, I’m saying what you already know: The big story in these Finals is LeBron James vs. Kevin Durant.

The good part is that that’s not the ONLY story in these Finals. If you love basketball, you’ll also be looking for these other matchups:

  1. Miami’s Defense vs. Thunder Offense- The Thunder had the 2nd most efficient offense in the league this year, and the Heat had the 4th best defense
  2. Chris Bosh vs. Kendrick Perkins/Nick Collison/Serge Ibaka- I personally think Chris Bosh is overrated, and I don’t think he will have much of an impact against the inside players of OKC.
  3. Russell Westbrook vs. Mario Chalmers- This is a huge advantage for the Thunder, and I can’t see the Heat leaving Chalmers on Westbrook for much of this series.
  4. Heat bench vs. Thunder bench- James Harden. Does anything else need to be said?
  5. The aforementioned Lebron vs. Durant- See Above.

So, those are my 5 top stories from the 2012 NBA Finals. What are yours?

Oh, and I’ll call OKC in 7. I’m also not confident in that at all.

4 responses to “NBA Finals 2012

  1. Go, Thunder- and I second your James Harden thought. He is awesome, and that goes even beyond his stellar beard and fro-hawk.
    PS- I’ll be praying God soften your heart re: the whole Lakers hatred/ Spurs love… it breaks my heart a little when I read that.

    • Thanks for seconding. He’s just an awesome guy, all around. It’s not gonna happen. My love for the Spurs will remain, as well as my hatred for the Lakers. Sorry man.

  2. I loved that Finals…probably because I’m a huge Heat/LeBron fan. It was fun to watch him dominate. I also enjoyed watching Westbroook – that guy’s got crazy skillz! Did you see his dunk in the Olympics (I think it was yesterday)? It looked like he jumped from the 3 point line!

Leave a Reply

