Interviews: Stephen Haggerty

A few weeks ago, I asked some of my good friends and fellow bloggers a few sports related questions and most of them were gracious enough to answer. Today, we will hear from Stephen Haggerty. He blogs at thebeardedidealist.com and tweets at @stephenhaggerty. Check him out!

What is your favorite sport to watch? College hoops, with college football coming in at a close  second. Something about kids who are doing keg-stands on Friday and winning tournaments on Sunday I find enthralling. Play?  Basketball & Golf.  Both of which I’m way better at in my head than in real life (when I golf I play “Best Ball,” meaning I throw my ball where it should have landed had I hit it the best.) See highlights of on SportsCenter? Weird answer here: probably soccer. I say this because normally if a soccer highlight is good enough to make SC, it is completely insane (i.e. a bicycle kick, head-butt, groin kick, etc.).

What is/are your favorite team/s? All L.A.-centric teams (my birthplace). College: VA Tech. Although, I lived in Boise a couple of years, and get pretty excited to watch the smurf-turf team.

What is the most creative mascot? I’ll go with the “Hokie” on that one- because no one seems to know what a “Hokie” is. 

Who is your favorite player in any sport? I’ve always liked Steve Nash. He certainly makes a good case for my favorite.

What is your favorite moment in sports that you have been alive to see? Boise State vs. Oklahoma, 2007 Fiesta Bowl. I just love an underdog, and that one is your prime example of a Cinderella story.

What about sports (professional or otherwise) do you likeI love that it’s a great way to break barriers (cultural/ethnic/language/political, etc.). A great example is when you go to a foreign country, the moment you drop a soccer ball, everyone immediately understands your intent. Sports is a universal language. Dislike? I dislike it when people worship sports… although maybe I’m just jealous that I don’t have time to keep up with fantasy leagues.

In what capacity do you think God cares about sports? I think God’s favorite player is Tim Tebow. Nah, I don’t know… God cares about individuals- God cares about what we care about, so maybe it’s important in that way. God is most concerned with His glory, so if He can be glorified and made famous through a sport, than I’d say He cares about it. What are your thoughts on prayer before games? I think it’s a great way to put the focus on where it belongs. Though maybe the prayer should be, “God make yourself known, and thanks for blessing us with healthy bodies and talent!” instead of, “God be on our side, not theirs.” 🙂

If you were given the choice to be gifted at any professional sport, what sport and position would you choose? Again I’m going with soccer for the wildcard; Forward Why? I went to a high school whose main sport was soccer, which instilled in me a secret love for the sport, as well as a glaring realization that I suck at it. I would love to be able to be a bit more skilled in the foot juggling arena.

Thanks Stephen!

7 responses to “Interviews: Stephen Haggerty

  1. I always knew there was something strange about Mr. Haggerty. Likes soccer and hates Oklahoma, two strikes. Next we’ll find out that’s a fake beard or something. Gilly watch this guy around your girlfriend. I’m just sayin!

    • 1) My beard is most definitely fake. Let’s go ahead and out that fact.
      2) I don’t hate Oklahoma. I even drove through there one time, and remember thinking, “this place is okay and I don’t hate it.” So, take that, my wild friend.

      • You had better never drive through Oklahoma again without at least having coffee or a beard trim with me. I knew your beard was a rouse! I found my wife reading your blog late one night. I’m on to you STEPHEN!

      • and I was going to invite you to coffee sometime, but your Oklahoma hatred is tempting me to rescind my premature invitation. We are not as bad as Louisiana and we are most certainly better than Nebraska. I will await your apology so I can drop this smugness and go back to writing like an Okie.

  2. That’s funny, Bill. I’d love to “grab a beard trim” with you next time I’m in the area. I mean, that would be weird, but then again, maybe not?

Leave a Reply

