1 Year In

Today is my one year anniversary of writing this blog. I don’t even know what to say about that. Last August, after attending Jon Acuff’s Quitter Conference and hearing him and Bryan Allain speak, I decided I was going to do something that I had been dreaming about, but up until then had never had the courage. I was going to start writing.

My first post was on Labor Day 2011. This past year has been very weird. Up and down (with considerably more down time) and hard to predict. But, even though I have wanted to throw in the towel, I haven’t given up on this. I don’t know that I’ll get rich and/or famous from this blog, but it certainly has allowed me to hone my writing and helped me learn about consistency. I know I’m still not the most consistent yet, but 366 days (leap year) and 65 posts (that’s 5.6307692308 days per post.  5.6307692308 days I allow my profound words to marinate in your now fork-tender brain.) have taught me a lot. I have learned a ton about writing, marketing myself, but most importantly, I have learned a lot about myself. I didn’t think this would go very far. I didn’t think anybody would like my writing. But, thanks to you reading this now, real life friends, and blogging friends, I have been encouraged to continue.

I really have so many people to credit for pushing me to continue, for providing feedback in a loving way, and for reading. Unfortunately, I can’t name everyone, but I can thank my lovely, soon to be wife Autumn. She has been my rock and has talked me through giving up on my dream and never looking back. She’s a keeper.

The runner up is Bryan Allain, who I’d like to thank for mentoring me and helping me get this dream off the ground and cleaning me up.

To all who have read, participated, tweeted, commented, told somebody, thanks for a good year!

2 responses to “1 Year In

Leave a Reply

