Interviews: Scott Kerzner

A few weeks ago, I asked some of my good friends and fellow bloggers a few sports related questions and most of them were gracious enough to answer. Today, we will hear from Scott Kerzner. He blogs at indueseason.net about money management and tweets at @skottydog. Scott has been a great friend and mentor in my blogging world, and he has a great story of how he and his wife got rid of all their debt. And he’s a hockey fan, so we get a fresh perspective today! I would greatly encourage you to read his blog!
What is your favorite sport to watch? Play? See highlights of on SportsCenter?

Hockey is my favorite sport.   I love to ice skate, and have played before, but I can’t backskate, so  that kind of ruined my NHL career.   (Otherwise, I would have been signed years ago!).   I equally enjoy the hockey highlights they review on SportsCenter…all 45 seconds per week!

What is/are your favorite team/s?

I love New York’s Finest.  No, not the NYPD & NYFD.  That would be weird.
I mean the Rangers, the Yankees, and the Giants.
Also, I don’t have the option to switch hockey affiliations due to my “birthmark”.

What is the most creative mascot? Why?
The New York Islanders “Fisherman”.  Creative in that it was the single worst mascot in the history of sports, and it was thought up by the worst team in sports.   Chants of the “Gorton’s Fisherman” were shouted from the seats for 2 seasons back in the 90’s—and most by their own fans!

Who is your favorite player in any sport?

Adam Graves, #9.   Guess which team?

What is your favorite moment in sports that you have been alive to see?

“The Guarantee”.  1994 Eastern Conference Finals, Rangers vs. Devils.  Rangers facing elimination as the favorite to win the Cup, which would end a 54-year drought.   Mark Messier guaranteed a win.  Delivered in Hollywood fashion.  Rangers won series in double OT, went on to win the Cup in 1994.

Here’s a 30 summary:

What about sports (professional or otherwise) do you like? Dislike?

I love the passion, the tradition, and the way it bonds people who would otherwise never interact.
I dislike the media attention that showcases unprofessional behavior.

In what capacity do you think God cares about sports? What are your thoughts on prayer before games?

I love that prayer before games has not been removed.  If you don’t want to hear it, then go gets beer.  In fact, when else is ever acceptable to drink a beer during a prayer?   I think God cares either way.

If you were given the choice to be gifted at any professional sport, what sport and position would you choose? Why?

If I could be gifted in any sport, I would have to say a NASCAR driver.  I should be payed for the way I drive now.   I missed my calling.    What position?   First place, of course.

2 responses to “Interviews: Scott Kerzner

Leave a Reply

