Recovery Weekend

I didn’t have a football post last week, nor did I have a Thanksgiving post. That’s like, the easiest way to get feels in the blog-writing community. I regret nothing, although you guys missed out, probably.

I had a great weekend of relaxation, reading, and resetting. I have been reading Love Does by Bob Goff, and I highly recommend it. I enjoy reading deep, hard books, but this is a nice, easy read that keeps a smile on my face with every word. And it makes me want to DO. Chesterton is next on my list.

Autumn (my future bride) and I cooked Thanksgiving dinner for us and her dad, and we did a really good job. I almost chopped my thumb off while chopping potatoes. I’m ok. My mom taught me a lot about cooking, so I know my way around a kitchen, but I was kind of nervous to be responsible for a whole turkey, which I have never done before. I did some research, injected, and cooked according to my new found knowledge, and I pulled out the best turkey I have ever eaten in my life. I’m really impressed with myself. And Autumn hit a home run with her first attempt at dressing (or stuffing, whatever), it was crazy good. She also made me my favorite pie, it’s chocolate chip walnut, and it’s stupid good.

Football was mostly terrible Thursday. The Houston-Detroit game was good and a lot closer than I thought it’d be. The Cowboys are obviously done for the season, as are the Jets. I’m not sure which of those two teams is harder to watch.

At halftime of the Cowboys’ game, we left to see Skyfall, the new James Bond movie. I thought it was awesome. I love Bond movies, but I’m a bit lost with them. It’s really hard to keep up with the overarching plot because they don’t really follow one. Of course, when you have a 50 year franchise, it’s hard to keep any sort of consistency. I honestly think Daniel Craig is the best Bond, though. I love his rugged, yet polished badassery. I just need to get the books to know the storyline, I think. A bit of information for you, Skyfall was the first Bond book published in the series.

Autumn also did some shopping this weekend, which was fun. I actually don’t mind shopping, as long as it’s with her, and as long as it’s in small doses. Before we started dating, I never tried clothes on, but Autumn loves making me try things on, it’s like a movie for her. Anyways I let her dress me cuz it gives her joy and she is way better at making me look good than I am.

Also, I really need to get back in the groove of running every day.

How was your holiday weekend? Who is your favorite Bond?

 

Leave a Reply

