Why I Don’t Care About Lance Armstrong Taking Drugs

Unless you have had your head in a hole in the ground, you know that Lance Armstrong came out yesterday, in an interview with Oprah Winfrey, saying that he did in fact use performance enhancing drugs during his time as a competitive cyclist. Over the past year, Lance has been stripped of his 7 Tour De France victories, forced to resign from his Livestrong foundation, and faced much public scrutiny after the US Anti-Doping Agency revealed that they had proof that he had taken part in a huge doping scheme.

Here’s why I don’t really care that Armstrong took PEDs: Almost literally everyone in cycling was doping at the time. Lance was merely putting himself on an even playing field by taking part. Was it right? I don’t know whether I’d do it, but I can’t say that I blame him. When MLB started cracking down on players for steroids, it was like a witch-hunt. Things that were not against the rules or tested for were suddenly getting players fined, suspended, kept out of the Hall of Fame, and sent to testify before Congress. I think it’s all a bit ridiculous. Lance participated in a lot of manipulation to continue cycling (and winning), but so did everyone else.

Lance should be no less of a hero to cancer patients because he took PEDs, either. It’s highly unlikely that whatever he took healed his cancer, but if it did, shouldn’t we be giving this wonder drug to all cancer patients? The story of will is still incredible: Lance came back from testicular, lung, and brain cancer to win more Tour de France titles. Whether he did it with help is irrelevant to me.

If you are angry because you gave money to Livestrong and now feel betrayed, I don’t think you have a leg to stand on. You, presumably, gave money to help further cancer research. Livestrong is continuing to do that, whether Lance is the head of it or not, and whether he lied or not.

Now, Lance lied, manipulated, took money that he may not have deserved, and since I didn’t pay him that money, I don’t feel like he owes me anything. I do think he was a bit of a douche because he sued people who accused him of being involved in doping, and I think that money should be paid back.

All in all, I don’t think Lance should be stripped of titles, and I don’t believe anybody has the right to feel betrayed or hurt by his eventual confession. What do you think?

 

10 responses to “Why I Don’t Care About Lance Armstrong Taking Drugs

  1. For the most part I agree with everything you wrote – – But I never really cared about cycling anyway. I have a buddy though, who Lance was his idol, he’s bummed out big time. I think that’s what hurt the Lance supporters the most – the fact that they defended him for years to their peers and now they feel stupid defending him.

    • I can respect that, but at the same time I don’t think what he did was any less amazing. He started at the same level with everyone else in the cycling field, on steroids, and he still won 7.

      • That’s really the only part I have a problem with. As far as the integrity of the sport, I don’t think baseball was ruined by the use, I think it was ruined by the witch hunt that followed.

      • Just to clarify – I’m not saying you don’t have integrity if you don’t think it’s a big deal, but I think that’s why others will “hate” him. I agree with you for the most part. I do think his “career” is over as far as marketing/promoting products is concerned – although – he appears to be very smart – so we shall see. He’ll probably rebound. This whole “coming out thing” appears to be a calculated move with something bigger in mind.

      • I’m with you. I don’t think you’re questioning my integrity, haha. I agree with you completely. Thanks for commenting! That interview is very interesting. Especially since part of what came out is that he was paying people off to cover for him.

  2. So I totally get your point and your reasoning. The thing that I find sad is that you can even reason by saying “well, everyone else is doping, so it’s really no big deal.” It’s too bad that our competitive nature is much more stronger than our honorable nature.

    The reason I would say that I don’t care is that people want to nail people like Lance Armstrong, Barry Bonds, Mark McGuire to a cross for their doping; aka cheating tactics. People are so quick to point the finger, but when you look the times that people cheat in life -on their spouse, on taxes, financial dealings, etc.- and nobody says anything about that. I totally get the whole “But these guys are in the spot-light and are kids role-models…” But when did mom and dad quit being role models? When did our friends and family quit being role-models? our bosses, our co workers?

    So I would say that I don’t care because there are a lot more important things at stake in this life. And what Lance does is his own business, and he’s the one that has to live with that on his conscience.

    The only thing that I could see about this whole ordeal is that maybe this would discourage young athletes from doping so as not to become a public embarrassment once you make it the top… but we all know that wont happen… so….

    • I totally agree with you. It is sad that cheating is the norm. I also don’t care because, like you said, there are more important things in this life. That being said, if I was that competitive, and making money for my performance, and everyone else was cheating, I can’t say that I wouldn’t consider it. I don’t cheat now, with money on the line, but we are talking about millions of dollars here. Again, not that it’s right, just that I’m not in that position. The biggest thing that makes me think less of Lance is how he treated people that called him out, not just defending himself, but also belittling and slandering people.

Leave a Reply

