Super Bowl XLVII

One of my favorite parts of writing this blog is the conversation it creates. I have made friends who now talk to me about things they read on the blog. I have been late in writing this blog about the biggest game of the year, but it’s ok, because I have had people asking my opinion on things going on in the sports world, which makes me feel all fuzzy.

One of my favorite parts of the Super Bowl is Prop Bets. Prop Bets are wagers on things other than the winner or spread of the game. It can be related to the game, like who scores the first TD, How many TDs or INTs each QB will have, or it can have nothing to do with the game, like the color of the Gatorade in the winning coach’s bath, or the the style of Beyonce’s hair. It’s hilarious and wonderful seeing what people will put money on. And if I had money to throw down, I’d throw it down on ridiculous bets like these: (picks in bold, commentary in italics) all bets taken from Bovada.Net

What will be the highest tweet per second during the Super Bowl?

Over 17000

Under 17000

We are betting on twitter now? Awesome. There’s gonna be at least 500 million people watching this game, and during at least 1 second of it, 17000 people will send a tweet. Obviously. 

If Ray Lewis is interviewed on TV after the game on the field or in the locker room, how many times will he mention “God/Lord”

Over                                             3

Under

I love making bets on people’s spirituality. The wildcard here is that Ray is limited to two words, so let’s hope he’s not feeling words like “Saviour” or “Jesus Christ”. 

What color will the Gatorade (or liquid) be that is dumped on the Head Coach of the Winning Super Bowl team?

Yellow

Clear/Water

Orange

Red

Blue

Green

Yellow is the most common color, especially in bulk, like in a cooler, but I’m taking a risk with the orange. 

How many times will “Harbaugh” be said during the game?

Over                                       21.5

Under

I feel like 21 times would be a good line if there was 1 Harbaugh in this game, but in case you haven’t heard, the coaches are brothers with the same last name, so this is a no brainer. 

How long will the post game handshake or hug last between Jim and John Harbaugh?

Over 6 Seconds

Under 6 Seconds

I don’t have a brother, so I don’t know what it’d be like to lose to my brother in the ultimate game of our careers/lives, but I can imagine that the loser will have some threats to get out in that postgame handshake, so I’m taking the over. 

Now on to the game. I really think these teams are pretty evenly matched. I’m excited to see what kind of game is put together. The Ravens have had trouble stopping the run all year, and the 49ers are an excellent run team with weapons in both Frank Gore and Colin Kaepernick. On the flip side, the Ravens have made their playoff run on big pass plays, which the 49ers have notoriously had a hard time with. The 49ers are favored to win by 4 points, and I think it will be about that close of a game. But, I bet against the Ravens vs my Broncos and the Patriots, so I’m going to take them to win this game.

I’m not putting any money on it, though.

What are your picks for my prop bets? Who do you pick to win the Super Bowl?

Leave a Reply

