NFL Draft 2013

Everyone is talking about the NFL Draft right now. And they should be, it starts this evening, and the face and fortunes of every NFL team is on the line, not to mention the futures of at least 224 young men who are hoping to have a NFL career.

The thing is, I don’t really care. I have no desire to follow the NFL draft. It all stems from me not following college football very closely. It also stems from me not believing that any of the “experts” on ESPN have any idea what they are talking about. They could get every pick wrong in their mock drafts and still be back next year, making another mock draft.

Don’t get me wrong, I love when my team picks a great player. I was really excited when the Broncos got Tim Tebow in 2010, and when we got Von Miller in 2011. I love that someone believes in someone enough to spend money and a precious draft pick on them.

I guess I just don’t get why we spend so much time analyzing a player before he even has a chance to prove himself on the field. There have been so many “sure things” that have failed, and countless “bad picks” that have flourished in the history of the game, you would think we would just stop and let things play out however they will.

Maybe I’m just bitter because I don’t know as much as other people.

Leave a Reply

