NBA Playoffs- Round 2

The Semifinal Round of the NBA playoffs is underway, and if the Game 1’s of this round are any indication, we are in for some excellent basketball. We saw the Thunder barely holding off the Grizzlies, the Knicks being upset by the Pacers, Da Bulls shocking everyone in Miami, and a double overtime thriller with the Spurs over the Warriors.

Autumn and I were watching the Spurs-Warriors game last night, and after Manu hit the game winning 3, Autumn said “There’s 1.2 seconds left, we won!” But that’s what I love about basketball. 1.2 seconds is a lot of time! Anything can happen. I once saw Jason Kidd score 5 points in 2 seconds against the Spurs. I’ve seen Tracey McGrady score 13 points in 30 seconds against the Spurs. And last, and certainly most painful, I’ve seen Derek Fisher beat the Spurs with .4 seconds on the clock. Anything can happen in 1.2 seconds. This is why I love the NBA.

 

On to my picks:

 

Oklahoma City Thunder vs Memphis Grizzlies– This is a very interesting matchup. The Grizzlies are a very physical team, and they have the ability to frustrate Kevin Durant throughout this series. The Thunder have nobody else to go to if that happens. I’m gonna get crazy here and pick the sleeper. Grizzlies in 7

 

Miami Heat vs Chicago Bulls– The Bulls are probably the other most physical team in the league, and have proven that they can frustrate Lebron and take him out of his rhythm. If they let Lebron be Lebron, but shut down the rest of the Heat, like they did in Game 1, I think they have an excellent chance. But I’m only confident in 1 sleeper, so I have to pick the Heat in 7.

 

New York Knicks vs Indiana Pacers– I was pleasantly surprised at how well the Pacers played against the Knicks in Game 1. I don’t think we can expect that JR Smith and Carmelo Anthony with have sub-par games like that throughout the series, though. I think they will pick it up and take this series. Knicks in 6

 

San Antonio Spurs vs Golden State Warriors– I fully expected this to be a fun series, but if Game 1 is any indication, I wildly underestimated the amount of fun we are about to have. If the Warriors were playing anybody else, I’d feel bad for them for losing that game. It’s a heartbreaker, and could very well take the wind out of their sails. I don’t think it will, though. They are a fun, young team, but as we saw last night, experience wins in the playoffs. Spurs in 7

 

What are your picks?

 

One response to “NBA Playoffs- Round 2

Leave a Reply

